Michigan wins 2013 Big Ten Helmet Bracket

Michigan wins 2013 Big Ten Helmet Bracket

Sugar Bowl Helmet

Credit: Derick E. Hingle-US PRESSWIRE

The winged helmet wins out. After weeks of voting, BTN.com readers selected Michigan’s iconic lid as the champion of the 2013 Big Ten Helmet Bracket. The Wolverines obliterated tourney darling and Leaders Division champ Indiana, 78%-22%, to record their second BTN.com aesthetic competition in as many summers. Last year, Michigan took our uniform bracket.

[ RELATED: Round 1 results | Round 2 results | Round 3 results ]

Got to hand it to Michigan fans. The Wolverines trailed Iowa by a wide margin in the Legends Division finals before MGoBlog.com posted a link to the poll in the 11th hour. Michigan fans went to work, and then some.

Chances are, they did the same throughout the tourney with matchups featuring their fiercest competitors. That’s the only logical explanation for Indiana topping both Ohio State and Penn State.

Can’t say Michigan fans aren’t loyal or dedicated.

See the final championship tussle tally:

About Brent Yarina BTN.com web editor Brent Yarina covers football and men’s basketball for BTN.com. He writes the popular uniform feature “Clothes Call,” which also focuses on the latest cosmetic changes across Big Ten arenas and stadiums. Read all of his work here. You can subscribe to Yarina’s RSS feed and follow him on Twitter @BTNBrentYarina.