staff, April 26, 2015

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - With a 4-0 victory over No. 2 seed Ohio State, top-seeded Illinois claimed the 2015 Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament Championship on Sunday afternoon at Illinois? Atkins Tennis Center.

[ MORE: Michigan takes Big Ten women's tennis tourney title ]

The Illini earned their second overall conference tournament crown and first since 2012.

Illinois, which won a share of the regular-season Big Ten Championship, earned the doubles point and an early 1-0 lead. Claiming singles wins for the Illini was Faris Gosea, Aron Hiltzik and Aleks Vukic. At No. 2 singles, Gosea earned a 6-3, 6-2 win over Mikael Torpegaard, while Hiltzik defeated Hunter Callahan, 6-4, 6-4 at the No. 4 position. Vukic topped Kevin Metka, 6-1, 6-3, at No. 5 singles.

BTN will televise the Big Ten Tournament final at 7 p.m. ET on Tuesday, May 12.

With the win, Illinois earns the conference's automatic berth to the NCAA Championships, which will be held May 14-25 in Waco, Texas.