Michigan wins program's first Big Ten women's tennis tourney crown


Michigan wins program's first Big Ten women's tennis tourney crown

EVANSTON, Ill. – With a 4-0 victory over No. 2-seeded Ohio State, top-seeded Michigan won the 2015 Big Ten Women’s Tennis Tournament Championship on Sunday at Combe Tennis Center. The Wolverines earned their first conference tournament crown.

[ MORE: Illinois claims Big Ten men’s tennis tourney ]

In doubles play, Michigan’s Emina Bektas and Alex Najarian defeated Gabriella De Santis and Sandy Niehaus, 8-7 (9-7), while the Wolverines’ Ronit Yurovsky and Sarah Lee topped Miho Kowase and Ferny Angeles Paz, 8-6.

Picking up singles wins for Michigan was Bektas, Yurovsky and Lee. Bektas defeated De Santis, 6-3, 6-1, while Yurovsky posted a 6-1, 6-3 win over Anna Sanford. Lee secured a 6-2, 6-3 win over Angeles Paz.

BTN will televise the Big Ten Tournament final at 7:30 p.m. ET Tuesday, May 12.

With the win, Michigan earns the conference’s automatic berth to the NCAA Championships, which will be held May 14-25 in Waco, Texas.

– BigTen.org


BTN Plus on BTN2Go

BTN Plus on BTN2Go

all times ET
7:00 PMCincinnati at Michigan St.Watch
4:00 PMSt. Louis at IowaWatch
4:00 PMWright St. at IndianaWatch
4:00 PMUIC at IllinoisWatch
5:00 PMLouisville at IndianaWatch
6:00 PMUIC at IllinoisWatch
7:00 PMCreighton at NebraskaWatch
Wednesday Mar 21
3:00 PMS. Dakota St. at IowaWatch

Watch hundreds of live non-televised Big Ten events via BTN Plus on BTN2Go.