staff, May 26, 2014

Indiana and Nebraska landed spots in the 2014 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, announced Monday by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee. The Hoosiers landed one of the top eight seeds, a first for a Big Ten institution. Both Big Ten squads played this past weekend in the Big Ten tournament championship with the Hoosiers beating the Huskers 8-4. Look back at all of that tournament with stories and videos here.

[ MORE: View the official interactive NCAA bracket ]

As for the NCAA tourney, the field of 64 is set. In the Bloomington Regional hosted by Indiana, the Hoosiers (42-13) face Youngstown State (16-36). In the other regional game it's Indiana State (35-16) against Stanford (30-23). In the Stillwater Regional hosted by Oklahoma State, Nebraska (40-19) opens against Cal State Fullerton (32-22). The other regional game here pits Oklahoma State (45-16) against Binghamton (25-25).

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals run from Friday, May 30, to Monday, June 2 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 2 at approximately 11 p.m. ET. Learn more at

The 68th Men?s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 14, at the TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Overall, the national top eight seeds are Oregon State (42-12), Florida (40-21), Virginia (44-13), Indiana (42-13), Florida State (43-15), La.-Lafayette (53-7), TCU (42-15) and LSU (44-14-1).