Brent Yarina, Senior Editor, May 14, 2013

The Big Ten released 2013-14 basketball single plays Tuesday. See who all 12 teams will face only once this winter in this post.

Illinois: Michigan, Purdue, at Northwestern, at Minnesota
Indiana: Ohio State, Iowa, at Purdue, at Minnesota
Iowa: Purdue, Nebraska, at Penn State, at Indiana
Michigan: Northwestern, Penn State, at Ohio State, at Illinois
Michigan State: Nebraska, Minnesota, at Purdue, at Wisconsin
Minnesota: Indiana, Illinois, at Michigan State, at Nebraska
Nebraska: Wisconsin, Minnesota, at Iowa, at Michigan State
Northwestern: Illinois, Penn State, at Ohio State, at Michigan
Ohio State: Michigan, Northwestern, at Wisconsin, at Indiana
Penn State: Iowa, Wisconsin, at Michigan, at Northwestern
Purdue: Indiana, Michigan State, at Illinois, at Iowa
Wisconsin: Ohio State, Michigan State, at Penn State, at Nebraska

Best draw: Wisconsin – The Badgers don't travel to Ohio State or Michigan State, arguably the conference's two top teams. This is huge, especially for a team that's always involved in the Big Ten race and is dominant at home.

Worst draw: Iowa – A popular sleeper team, the Hawkeyes will have their work cut out for themselves, with a pair of games vs. Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State and Wisconsin. Clearly, RPI won't be an issue for Iowa in 2013-14.

Rivalries affected: One look at the list above, and it's difficult not to notice that heated rivals Indiana and Purdue and Michigan and Ohio State only meet once. What a shame. I'll say this: Whatever happens to the schedules once Maryland and Rutgers are added in 2014-15, protected rivalries must be adopted.

About Brent Yarina web editor Brent Yarina covers football and men's basketball for He writes the popular uniform feature "Clothes Call," which also focuses on the latest cosmetic changes across Big Ten arenas and stadiums. Read all of his work here. You can subscribe to Yarina's RSS feed and follow him on Twitter @BTNBrentYarina.