Brent Yarina, Senior Editor, June 27, 2012

It's hard to believe it's been 20 years, huh? The 2012 ESPY Awards will mark the 20th installment of ESPN's annual awards show. It all happens Wednesday, July 11 at 9 p.m. ET in Los Angeles. As is the case every year, Big Ten products are up for their share of awards. See all of the Big Ten nominees in this post. Also, you can vote on the ESPY Awards here.

Best Record-Breaking Performance
Drew Brees
Mike Krzyzewski
Mariano Rivera
Lexi Thompson

Brees, a Purdue product, broke NFL Hall of Famer Dan Marino's single-season record for most passing yards, with 5,476 yards. Marino had held the record (5,084) since 1984.

Best NFL Player
Drew Brees
Rob Gronkowski
Calvin Johnson
Aaron Rodgers
Terrell Suggs

Brees, a Purdue product, threw for an NFL-record 5,476 yards and threw for an NFL-high 46 touchdowns, all while compiling 110.6 quarterback rating.

Best Male Golfer
Luke Donald
Bill Haas
Rory McIlroy
Webb Simpson
Bubba Watson

Donald, a Northwestern product, became the first golfer to win US and European money titles in same season.

Best Play

This category is a bracket-style vote, with the top 16 seeds cut down to the final 8 on Tuesday, July 3. The final 4 will be revealed on Monday, July 9. Fans may vote for their Best Play beginning Friday at

Kirk Cousins to Keith Nichol last-second Hail Mary vs. Wisconsin

Christian Watford buzzer-beater vs. No. 1 Kentucky

Brent Yarina is a web editor and blogger for Find all of his work here and follow him on twitter at @BTNBrentYarina.