BTN Communications, March 7, 2017


After an extraordinarily competitive 2016-2017 season, BTN?s men?s basketball live game coverage drew an 11% increase in overall household delivery over last season, fueled by a 22% growth in Super Wednesday doubleheaders*. 52 conference games were decided either in the final minute or overtime, and 31 of those were featured on BTN, including 10 of the 12 overtime contests.

Additionally, BTN saw six of the top 10 conference games in network history take place during the 2016-2017 season. Along with the Maryland at Minnesota game on Jan. 28 that set the record, Minnesota at Wisconsin (March 5), Michigan State at Maryland (March 4), Michigan at Minnesota (Feb. 19), Minnesota at Maryland (Feb. 22) and Northwestern at Wisconsin (Feb. 12) all finished as top seven conference games in BTN history.

Over the next two weeks, BTN will debut two shows dedicated to reliving those moments. The first, Big Ten?s Best: Basketball Finishes 2017 will highlight the top-10 finishes of the season, including wins by Northwestern, Indiana, Maryland, Iowa, Wisconsin, Minnesota and Ohio State. The second will air later in March and include the conclusion of nearly 40 of the closest games this season. Debut dates and times will be provided when available, and also be listed on

To close out the year, BTN will air five games from the Big Ten Tournament in Washington D.C., beginning with No. 11 Ohio State vs. No. 14 Rutgers at 7 p.m. ET on Wednesday. Thursday?s action begins at 11:30 a.m. ET with the B1G Tip-Off Show, followed by No. 8 Michigan vs. No. 9 Illinois at noon ET, with No. 5 Michigan State taking on the winner of No. 12 Nebraska vs. No. 13 Penn State at approximately 2:30 p.m. ET.

On Friday, the B1G Tip-Off Show begins at 6 p.m. ET, followed by a pair of quarterfinal games featuring No. 2 Wisconsin at 6:30 p.m. ET and No. 3 Maryland at 9 p.m. ET. Full coverage from the Big Ten Tournament can be found here, and also seen on BTN2Go.

*Source: Nielsen Metered Market Overnights: Baltimore, Chicago, Cleveland, Columbus, Dayton, Detroit, Indianapolis, Milwaukee, Minneapolis, New York, Philadelphia and Washington, D.C.