, November 6, 2016

Emily Heslin?s goal with 5:22 remaining lifted top-seeded Minnesota to a 2-1 victory over No. 7 seed Rutgers in the Big Ten Women?s Soccer Tournament championship match on Sunday afternoon at Elizabeth Lyle Robbie Stadium.

With the win, the Golden Gophers (16-3-3, 7-1-3 Big Ten) earned their second Big Ten Tournament title and first since 1995. Minnesota also will receive the Big Ten?s automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.

Heslin?s goal, her first of the season, came off a rising blast from just outside the top of the penalty area only 47 seconds after Rutgers (11-4-6, 4-2-5) had tied the match on Chantelle Swaby?s goal.

Prior to the thrilling finish, it appeared Minnesota?s Sydney Squires would have the only score of the day, having put the Golden Gophers on the board with her goal in the 27th minute.

The announcement of the 64-team field for the 2016 NCAA Women?s Soccer Tournament will be made at 4:30 p.m. (ET) Monday live on


2016 Big Ten Women?s Soccer All-Tournament Team
Mykayla Brown, Indiana
Nicky Waldeck, Michigan
Tori Burnett, Minnesota
Emily Heslin, Minnesota
Sydney Squires, Minnesota
Sydney Miramontez, Nebraska
Nikia Smith, Northwestern
Nickolette Driesse, Penn State
Chantelle Swaby, Rutgers
Madison Tiernan, Rutgers
Rose Lavelle, Wisconsin

Individual Awards
Offensive Player of the Tournament: Sydney Squires, Minnesota
Defensive Player of the Tournament: Tori Burnett, Minnesota