, June 7, 2016

The Big Ten announced on Thursday the 28 honorees named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2015-16 academic year. These standouts were chosen from a group of more than 350 students honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree, and two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected from each institution. All of the Sportsmanship Award winners have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these honorees must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

2016 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

Alex Burge, Golf
Kyley Simmons, Basketball

Femi Hollinger-Janzen, Soccer
Sydney Clute, Track and Field

Drew Ott, Football
Amy Ihm, Golf

Anthony Papio, Baseball
Malina Howard, Basketball

Adam Coon, Wrestling
Ronit Yurovsky, Tennis

Michigan State  
Caleb Rhynard, Cross Country/Track and Field
Sarah Kovan, Soccer

Joey King, Basketball
Paige Palkovich, Softball

Austin Wilson, Wrestling
Tierra Williams, Track and Field

Max Chapman, Football
Christen Johnson, Basketball

Ohio State    
Joshua Perry, Football
Sakiko Minagawa, Cross Country

Penn State 
James Chakey, Lacrosse
Teddy Chase, Soccer

Doug Welch, Wrestling
Kim Love, Soccer

Quentin Gause, Football
Racquel Zurick, Golf

Adam Lauko, Soccer
Nicole Bauman, Basketball