, May 8, 2016

The top-seeded Maryland women?s lacrosse team won the 2016 Big Ten Tournament title after posting a 12-9 win over third-seeded Northwestern in the championship game Sunday afternoon at Lanny and Sharon Martin Stadium.

[ MORE: Watch replay of the Maryland-Northwestern tourney title on BTN2Go ]

The Terrapins? Caroline Wannen tallied a hat trick, while Bryn Boucher, Taylor Cummings and Megan Whittle each produced two goals. Goaltender Megan Taylor tallied seven saves in the cage. Northwestern was led by Christina Esposito, who scored three goals.

Cummings was named the tournament?s Most Valuable Player, leading a group of four Terrapins on the All-Tournament Team.

Maryland improved to 19-0 on the season, and earns the conference?s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Selection Show will air on tonight at 9 p.m. ET.



View the 2016 Big Ten Women?s Lacrosse All-Tournament Team:

MVP - Taylor Cummings, Maryland

All-Tournament Team
Taylor Cummings, Maryland
Alice Mercer, Maryland
Megan Taylor, Maryland
Caroline Wannen, Maryland
Kimberly Coughlan, Michigan
Christina Esposito, Northwestern
Selena Lasota, Northwestern
Ally Mueller, Northwestern
Molly Wood, Ohio State
Madison Cyr, Penn State
Natalie Schmitt, Penn State
Paige Paratore, Rutgers
Amanda Turturro, Rutgers