staff, March 28, 2016

The Big Ten claimed two of the five spots on the 2016 Associated Press All-America First Team, it was announced Monday.

[ MORE: Read more about Rachel Banham | Read more about Kelsey Mitchell ]

Minnesota's Rachel Banham and Ohio State's Kelsey Mitchell join UConn's Breanna Stewart and Moriah Jefferson and South Carolina's A'ja Wilson on the annual postseason first-team.

Banham, the Big Ten Player of the Year, averaged a Big Ten-record 30.5 points in conference play, including a conference single-game record and NCAA-tying 60 points in a double-overtime victory at Northwestern, and is just Minnesota's second player to earn AP first-team honors, joining Amanda Zahui B. (2015).

Mitchell, a sophomore, scored 889 points to break her own single-season school record of 873 points and hit a Big Ten-leading 126 3-pointers en route to becoming the third Ohio State player to earn AP first-team honors, following Jessica Davenport (2005) and Jantel Lavender (2010, 2011).

The Big Ten also put a pair of talents on the AP's third team, as Maryland's Shatori Walker-Kimbrough and Michigan State's Aerial Powers earned recognition.


And, here's Banham talking about sweeping 2015-16 Big Ten Player of the Year.

Relive all of our 2015-16 Banham highlights on our YouTube page.