staff, March 19, 2016

The Penn State Nittany Lion wrestling team won the 2016 NCAA Wrestling Championship on Saturday at Madison Square Garden in New York. This is the Nittany Lions' fifth title in the last six years, and sixth overall.

Penn State's title marked the 10th straight year that a Big Ten school has claimed the NCAA Championship, and the fifth title for Penn State in the last six years. The Nittany Lions? Nico Megaludis claimed the 125-pound title, while teammate Zain Retherford took home the 149-pound title.

The Nittany Lions amassed 123 team points, while Ohio State came in third with 86 points. Also finishing among the top 10 were Iowa in fifth place (81 points), Nebraska in eight place (58) and Illinois and Michigan tied for ninth place (50.5).

Three other Big Ten wrestlers claimed individual titles at the NCAA Championships. Illinois? Isaiah Martinez secured the 157-pound title, while Ohio State?s Myles Martin won the 174-pound championship and the Buckeyes? Kyle Snyder claimed the 285-pound title.

Big Ten schools have now claimed four national titles so far this academic year, including championships for Nebraska volleyball, Ohio State open pistol and Penn State women?s soccer and wrestling.