staff, March 19, 2016

BIG TEN — Michigan won the 2016 Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Championships title on Saturday, securing its 22nd overall and third consecutive title. The Wolverines tallied 197.125 points en route to the team title, followed by Nebraska in second place with 196.900. Minnesota finished in third with 196.575 points, Penn State placed fourth with 196.150 and Iowa and Ohio State rounded out the top five with 195.875 points each.

Minnesota's Lindsay Mable tied for first on the beam with Michigan?s Nicole Artz and Nebraska?s Grace Williams with a score of 9.925 en route to the all-around title with a score of 39.650. Nebraska?s Hollie Blanske won the vault title with a score 9.975. Michigan?s Brianna Brown and Penn State?s Kiera Brown shared the uneven parallel bars title with a score of 9.950, while Artz earned the floor exercise crown with a score of 9.975.

The conference's individual awards were also given out following the championships. Minnesota's Mable was named the Big Ten Gymnast of the Year for the second-straight season, marking the eighth honor in Golden Gopher history. Michigan's Olivia Karas was tabbed the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while Minnesota head coach Jenny Hansen was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year.

Nineteen students were named to the All-Championships Team. Illinois' Bridget Hodan and Sunny Kato, Iowa?s Mollie Drenth and Angel Metcalf, Maryland?s Kathy Tang, Michigan?s Nicole Artz, Brianna Brown, and Olivia Karas, Michigan State?s Elena Lagoski and Hailee Westney, Minnesota?s Lindsay Mable, Nebraska?s Hollie Blanske, Danielle Breen, Sienna Crouse, Jennie Laeng, and Grace Williams, Ohio State?s Kaitlyn Hofland, Penn State?s Kiera Brown and Rutgers? Riahanah Ali received recognition for their performances at the championships.

Big Ten Individual Awards
Gymnast of the Year: Lindsay Mable, Minnesota
Freshman of the Year: Olivia Karas, Michigan
Coach of the Year: Jenny Hansen, Minnesota

All-Championships Team
Bridget Hodan, Illinois
Sunny Kato, Illinois
Mollie Drenth, Iowa
Angel Metcalf, Iowa
Kathy Tang, Maryland
Nicole Artz, Michigan
Brianna Brown, Michigan
Olivia Karas, Michigan
Elena Lagoski, Michigan State
Hailee Westney, Michigan State
Lindsay Mable, Minnesota
Hollie Blanske, Nebraska
Danielle Breen, Nebraska
Sienna Crouse, Nebraska
Jennie Laeng, Nebraska
Grace Williams, Nebraska
Kaitlyn Hofland, Ohio State
Kiera Brown, Penn State
Riahanah Ali, Rutgers

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Mary Jane Horth, Illinois
Melissa Zurawski, Iowa
Kathy Tang, Maryland
Lindsay Williams, Michigan
Brittany Holmes, Michigan State
Madeline Hanley, Minnesota
Danielle Breen, Nebraska
Rachel Abrams, Ohio State
Christina Postiglione, Penn State
Kathryn Stebick, Rutgers