Brent Yarina, Senior Editor, February 27, 2016

The Michigan women?s track & field team won the 2016 Big Ten Indoor Track & Field Championships on Saturday at the SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio. The Wolverines posted four individual titles and claimed one relay to secure Michigan?s ninth Big Ten Championship and first since 2006.

Michigan tallied 109 team points, while Purdue was second with 102 points. Penn State was third with 96.5 points, while Minnesota finished fourth with 89 and Iowa was fifth with 50 points.

The Wolverines recorded first-place finishes from Erin Finn in the 3,000- and 5,000-meter runs, Devon Hoppe in the 800-meter run and Shannon Osika in the one-mile run. Michigan also picked up the team title in the distance medley relay.

BTN will air tape-delayed coverage of the Big Ten Indoor Track & Field Championships at 10:30 a.m. ET on Saturday, March 5.

The complete results are attached and the All-Big Ten teams are below.


First Team
Sydney Clute, Indiana
Elexis Guster, Iowa
Lake Kwaza, Iowa
Erin Finn, Michigan
Devon Hoppe, Michigan
Maya Long, Michigan
Shannon Osika, Michigan
Danielle Pfeifer, Michigan
Jamie Phelan, Michigan
Jess Lehman, Minnesota
Titania Markland, Minnesota
Tierra Williams, Nebraska
Symone Black, Purdue
Devynne Charlton, Purdue
Carmiesha Cox, Purdue
Aarin Jones, Purdue
Janae Moffitt, Purdue
Brionna Thomas, Purdue
Gabrielle Farquharson, Rutgers
Kelsey Card, Wisconsin


Second Team
Kandie Bloch-Jones, Illinois
Nicole Choquette, Illinois
Montayla Holder, Iowa
Chioma Onyekwere, Maryland
Cindy Ofili, Michigan
Aaliyah Barnes, Ohio State
Alexis Franklin, Ohio State
Beatrice Hannan, Ohio State
Sonikqua Walker, Ohio State
Karrington Winters, Ohio State
Rachel Fatherly, Penn State
Tori Gerlach, Penn State
Danielle Gibson, Penn State
Lexi Masterson, Penn State
Savannah Carson, Purdue
Taylor Dunlap, Purdue
Katie Hoevet, Purdue
Kiara McIntosh, Purdue
Vanessa McLeod, Purdue
Georgia Ellenwood, Wisconsin