Brent Yarina, Senior Editor, February 21, 2016

Michigan claimed the 2016 Big Ten Women?s Swimming & Diving Championship on Saturday at the Canham Natatorium on the campus of the University of Michigan. The title marks the Wolverines 15th conference crown, and first since 2004.

Michigan compiled 1,361 total points throughout the four-day event. Indiana finished second after collecting 1,207.5 points and Minnesota was third with 927.5 points. Ohio State finished fourth with 859 points, while Purdue recorded 766.5 points to finish fifth.

The Wolverines took home titles in the 100-yard freestyle, 100-yard backstroke, 200-yard freestyle, 200-yard backstroke, 200-yard individual medley, 400-yard medley relay, 400-yard freestyle relay and 800-yard freestyle relay.

Michigan?s Siobhan Haughey was named Swimmer of the Championships, while Minnesota?s Yu Zhou was tabbed Diver of the Championships. Indiana?s Lilly King claimed Freshman of the Year honors.

The complete 2016 All-Big Ten Teams and Sportsmanship Award honorees are listed below.


2016 Big Ten Individual Honors
Swimmer of the Championships:
Siobhan Haughey, Michigan
Diver of the Championships: Yu Zhou, Minnesota
Freshman of the Year: Lilly King, Indiana


2016 All-Big Ten Teams

First Team
Marie Chamberlain, Indiana
Gia Dalesandro, Indiana
Kennedy Goss, Indiana
Lilly King, Indiana
Haley Lips, Indiana
Grace Vertigans, Indiana
Yirong Bi, Michigan
Alexandra DeLoof, Michigan
Gabrielle DeLoof, Michigan
Siobhan Haughey, Michigan
Gillian Ryan, Michigan
Clara Smiddy, Michigan
Yu Zhou, Minnesota
Lindsey Clary, Ohio State
Rachael Dzierzak, Ohio State
Annlise Jongekrijg, Ohio State
Zhesi Li, Ohio State
Macie McNichols, Ohio State

Second Team
Delaney Barnard, Indiana
Miranda Tucker, Indiana
Emily Kopas, Michigan
Zoe Avestruz, Minnesota
Rachel Munson, Minnesota
Danielle Nack, Minnesota
Lauren Votava, Minnesota
Brooke Zeiger, Minnesota
Anna Filipcic, Nebraska
Olivia Rosendahl, Northwestern
Hanna Thek, Ohio State
Alyson Ackman, Penn State
Kaitlin Jones, Penn State
Nicole Price, Penn State
Haley Sinatro, Penn State
Alexa Davis, Purdue
Marissa Berg, Wisconsin
Chase Kinney, Wisconsin
Anne Tamblyn, Wisconsin
Jessica Unicomb, Wisconsin


Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Lori Lynn, Illinois
Michal Bower, Indiana
Emma Sougstad, Iowa
Sarah Kamstra, Michigan
Emily Parsons, Michigan State
Lauren Votava, Minnesota
Julia Roller, Nebraska
Julia Pratt, Northwestern
Cheyenne Meek, Ohio State
Kaitlin Jones, Penn State
Kaersten Meitz, Purdue
Meghan Kiely, Rutgers
Rachel Johnson, Wisconsin