staff, November 9, 2015

Five Big Ten women?s soccer teams will compete in the 2015 NCAA Division I Women?s Soccer Championship, it was announced on Monday. Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers all earned berths to the national tournament, which begins on Friday.

[ MORE: View the official interactive NCAA bracket ]

Minnesota makes its ninth appearance in the tournament after finishing the season with an 11-6-3 overall record. The Golden Gophers will host South Dakota State in the first round on Friday.

Northwestern, which finished the season with a record of 13-5-2, makes its third appearance in the NCAA Championship, and first since 1998. The Wildcats will travel to Washington State on Saturday.

Ohio State claimed its 10th appearance in the NCAA Tournament after finishing the season with an 11-6-3 record. The Buckeyes will host Butler on Saturday.

Penn State makes its 21st appearance in the tournament, earning a No. 1 seed after claiming a share of the 2015 Big Ten Championship and a share of the Big Ten Tournament title. The Nittany Lions finished the season with a 16-3-2 overall record, and will host Albany in the opening round on Friday.

Rutgers earned its 10th berth to the NCAA Tournament after completing the season with a 16-3-2 record, and advancing to the championship match of the Big Ten Tournament. The second-seeded Scarlet Knights will host Fairleigh Dickinson on Friday.

The first round matches will be played Nov. 13-15, with second round matches set for Nov. 20 and third round action on Nov. 22, all on campus sites. Quarterfinals will be played Nov. 27 or Nov. 28 on campus sites. The 2015 NCAA College Cup will be held at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C., with semifinal games on Dec. 4 and the championship match on Dec. 6.