Brent Yarina, Senior Editor, November 8, 2015

Welma Luus scored four goals to lead the top-seeded Maryland field hockey team to its first Big Ten Tournament title, defeating Michigan 5-1, in Sunday?s championship game.

With the victory, Maryland earned the Big Ten?s automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament.

Luus put Maryland ahead, 1-0, with a goal in the third minute, and the Terrapins? Floor Paanakker extended Maryland?s lead to 2-0 with a goal in the 17th minute. Luus added her second goal of the game in the 28th minute before Michigan?s Allie Sardo put Michigan on the board, making the score 3-1. Luus added two more goals in the 56th and 61st minutes, respectively, bringing her tournament goal total to seven. She broke the Big Ten Tournament record previously set by Northwestern?s Nancy Fisher in 1981. Luus also tied the Big Ten Tournament record for goals in a single game.

The NCAA Tournament Selection Show will air live on at 10 p.m. ET Sunday.


2015 All-Tournament Team
Maddie Latino, Indiana
Stephanie Norlander, Iowa
Anna Dessoye, Maryland
Welma Luus, Maryland
Casie Ammerman, Michigan
Katie Trombetta, Michigan
Heather Howie, Michigan State
Dominique Masters, Northwestern
Caroline Troncelliti, Northwestern
Carolina Vergroesen, Ohio State
Brooke Birosik, Penn State
Gina Bramley, Penn State

Tournament MVP: Welma Luus, Maryland