staff, staff, August 28, 2015

Read into it what you will: J.T. Barrett is one of Ohio State's six captains, a group that does not include Cardale Jones, the team announced Friday.

Barrett and Jones are battling for the much-talked-about starting quarterback position of the defending national champs.

Both are fantastic talents, and both have well-known stories.

Barrett, who filled in for an injured Braxton Miller last season, put up a record-setting season last year on his way to claiming Big Ten Quarterback of the Year, while Jones, following Barrett's injury in the season finale vs. Michigan, led the Buckeyes to three memorable postseason victories en route to winning the national championship.

The Buckeyes open the season Monday, Sept. 7 at Virginia Tech, so Urban Meyer and staff have nine days to make a decision.

Ohio State's other captains are Jacoby Boren, Taylor Decker, the aforementioned Miller, Joshua Perry and Tyvis Powell.

Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports
Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports