staff, June 3, 2015

Unable to overcome a sluggish start in the Women's College World Series finale, No. 3 Michigan dropped a 4-1 decision to No. 1 seed Florida on Wednesday at ASA Hall of Fame Stadium.

The Gators (60-7) won their second consecutive national championship and denied the Wolverines (60-8) their second title on the 10th anniversary of their first in 2005.

Florida jumped out to an early lead with three runs in the first inning, tacked on another run in the second inning, and withstood several Michigan scoring opportunities in the midde portion of the game, when the Wolverines left a combined seven runners on base in the third, fifth and sixth innings.

Michigan called on senior LHP Haylie Wagner to start the deciding game of the best-of-three championship series, but she could not duplicate her masterful shutout performance from the previous night as she allowed four runs on four hits in two-plus innings.

Florida's Lauren Haeger, the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, also got the start in the circle for the second straight night and continued her strong performance, surrendering five hits and one walk while fanning five to improve to 32-2.

Read the complete recap at