staff, June 2, 2015

Antwaan Randle El
Brian Spurlock-US PRESSWIRE

The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced Tuesday the names on the 2016 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Twenty-one former Big Ten standouts made the list, not counting Nebraska's Eric Crouch and Zach Wiegert and Penn State's Steve Wisniewski, all of who played before their schools entered the Big Ten.

Check out all of the Big Ten names to make the ballot below. The accolades capsules are courtesy of

Morten Andersen, K, Michigan State. 1981 First Team All-American who left MSU as the Big Ten?s all-time leader in field goals (45)?Set still-standing conference record with 63-yard field goal in 1981 and was a three-time All-Big Ten performer?Led the Spartans in scoring for three seasons.

Erick Anderson, LB, Michigan. 1991 First Team All-American and Butkus Award winner who led Wolverines to four bowl games and top 10 finishes all four seasons of career?1991 Big Ten Co-Defensive Player of the Year and only player in UM history to lead team in tackles all four seasons.

Larry Burton, WR, Purdue. First Team All-American and Outstanding College Athlete of America in 1974 and a First Team All-Big Ten selection?Led the team in receiving in both 1973 and 1974?Named team captain and team MVP in 1974.

Keith Byars, RB, Ohio State. Unanimous First Team All-American and Heisman Trophy runner-up who led nation in rushing (1,764), all-purpose yards (2,441) and scoring (144) in 1984?1984 Big Ten MVP and two-time All-Big Ten selection?Ranks fifth all-time at OSU with 4,369 career all-purpose yards and 3,200 career rushing yards.

Kerry Collins, QB, Penn State. 1994 consensus First Team All-American and winner of the Maxwell and Davey O?Brien awards?Led the nation in passing efficiency (172.9) as a senior and named 1994 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year?Led Lions to 12-0 record, a Big Ten title and No. 2 final ranking in 1994.

Tom Cousineau, LB, Ohio State. Two-time consensus First Team All-American and three-time All-Big Ten performer? Recorded 572 career tackles, ranking second all-time in OSU history? Held nine school records at career?s end, still holding six.

Tim Dwight, WR/KR, Iowa. Two-time First Team All-American, earning consensus honors in 1997? First Team All-Big Ten who placed seventh in 1997 Heisman Trophy voting?Finished career as Big Ten?s leader in punt return yardage (1,102).

Jumbo Elliott, T, Michigan. Two-time First Team All-American (consensus-?87)? Two-time All-Big Ten First Team selection and member of 1986 Big Ten Co-Champions?Paved the way for Jamie Morris, who had three-straight 1,000-yard seasons.

Moe Gardner, DT, Illinois. Two-time First Team All-America (unanimous-?89, consensus-?90)?1990 Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and 1989 Big Ten Lineman of the Year?Three-time First Team All-Conference pick and set school record for career TFL (57).

Kirk Gibson, WR, Michigan State. Named First Team All-American, led Big Ten in receiving in league play and helped the Spartans to a Big Ten Co-Championship and a No.12 national ranking in 1978?Played MLB for 17 seasons.

Dana Howard, LB, Illinois. Two-time First Team All-American, earning unanimous honors as a senior?1994 Butkus Award winner and two-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year?School?s all-time leading tackler (595) who led team in tackles each year of career.

Tim Krumrie, DT, Wisconsin. Named a consensus First Team All-American in 1981? Led Badgers to 1981 Garden State Bowl and earned Defensive MVP honors in 1982 Independence Bowl?Three-time First Team All-Conference selection, recording 444 career tackles.

Mark Messner, DT, Michigan. 1988 unanimous First Team All-American who was a Lombardi Award finalist?1988 Big Ten Player of the Year and four-time First Team All-Big Ten selection?Led Wolverines to four bowl berths and named MVP of 1985 Fiesta Bowl.

Jim Otis, FB, Ohio State. Named consensus First Team All-American in 1969?Member of the 1968 National Championship team?Named First Team All-Big Ten conference in 1969 and led the Buckeyes to two conference titles?Led the team in rushing three times.

Antwaan Randle El, QB, Indiana. 2001 First Team consensus All-American?First player in FBS history to pass for 6,000 yards and rush for 3,000 yards in career?Rushed for more yards than any QB in FBS history upon conclusion of career.

Simeon Rice, LB, Illinois. Two-time First Team All-American and three-time First Team All-Big Ten selection?Holds conference and school record for career sacks (44.5) and Illini record for career tackles for loss (69)?Set school record for single-season sacks (16).

Bob Stein, DE Minnesota. 1967 First Team All-American?Two-time First Team All-Big Ten selection who led Gophers to co-share of the 1967 Big Ten title?1969 NFF National Scholar-Athlete.

Taylor Stubblefield, WR, Purdue. 2004 consensus First Team All-American who set the NCAA record for career receptions (316)?Two-time All-Big Ten selection who led conference in receptions for three consecutive seasons from 2002-04?2004 Biletnikoff finalist who set Sun Bowl record with 196 receiving yards in 2001.

Andre Tippett, DE, Iowa. 1981 Consensus First Team All-American who led Hawkeyes to 1982 Rose Bowl berth?Two-time First Team All-Big Ten performer, leading Iowa to 1981 Big Ten championship?Holds Iowa record for TFL yardage (153 yards/20 TFL).

Lorenzo White, RB, Michigan State. Two-time First Team All-American, earning unanimous (?85) and consensus (?87) honors?Led State to 1987 Big Ten title and Rose Bowl win?Led nation in rushing (1985), first MSU player to lead team in rushing four-straight seasons.

Rod Woodson, DB, Purdue. 1986 consensus First Team All-American and runner-up for the Jim Thorpe Award?Three-time First Team All-Big Ten performer who returned three interceptions for touchdowns in career?Started 45 games and left Purdue as career leader in solo tackles (320) and interceptions (11) among others.

A Big Ten coach made the ballot, as well:

Darryl Rogers, Michigan State (1976-79). Achieved an unprecedented national ranking at San Jose State?Was Big Ten Coach of the Year in 1977 and National Coach of the Year by Sporting News in 1978?Won the Big Ten title in 1978.


Two pre-Big Ten Nebraska players and one Penn State player also made the ballot.

Eric Crouch, QB, Nebraska. 2001 Heisman, Walter Camp, and Davey O?Brien Award winner who led Huskers to 2001 national title game?Holds NCAA record for career rushing TDs by a quarterback (59)?Led team to 42-9 record and four bowl berths.

Zach Wiegert, T, Nebraska. 1994 unanimous First Team All-American and winner of the Outland Trophy?Led Huskers to 1994 National Championship and 1993 National Championship game appearance?Three-time All-Big Eight selection who led Nebraska to league titles every year of career.

Steve Wisniewski, G, Penn State. 1988 First Team All-American?Member of 1986 12-0 national championship team?Helped Blair Thomas rush for 1,414 yards and 11 touchdowns in 1987 and D.J. Dozier attain First Team All-America honors in 1986.