staff, May 28, 2015

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference on Thursday recognized a total of 1,447 students competing in spring and at-large sports who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team.

[ MORE: See all of the 2015 Academic All-Big Ten honorees (PDF) ]

The list of honorees features 126 in baseball, 125 in softball, 158 in women?s rowing, 65 in men?s and 58 in women?s golf, 83 in men?s and 93 in women?s lacrosse, 59 in men?s and 70 in women?s tennis, 180 in men?s and 247 in women?s track and field and 36 in men?s (representing fencing, rifle and pistol, rowing and volleyball) and 147 in women?s (representing bowling, fencing, ice hockey, lightweight rowing, rifle and pistol, sand volleyball, synchronized swimming and water polo) at-large sports.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

At least 13 students competing in spring and at-large sports have maintained unblemished cumulative GPAs:

Katelyn Daniels, Michigan State women?s track and field (Jr., Human Biology)
Kimberly Dinh, Wisconsin women?s golf (Sr., Chemistry and Chemical Engineering)
Michael Hyc, Illinois men?s track and field (So., Accountancy)
Will Lohman, Nebraska men?s track and field (Sr., Criminology and Criminal Justice)
Minori Minagawa, Ohio State women?s track and field (Jr., Exercise Science)
Alana O?Mara, Michigan State women?s track and field (Jr., Neuroscience)
Kathleen Rodden, Penn State women?s track and field (Sr., Kinesiology)
Campbell Sode, Rutgers men?s lacrosse (Sr., Labor Studies and Employment Relations/History)
Zoe Stukenberg, Maryland women?s lacrosse (So., Biological Sciences: General Biology)
Derek Wiebke, Minnesota men?s track and field (So., Psychology)
Drew Wiseman, Nebraska men?s track and field (So., Electrical Engineering)
Kristina Zalewski, Michigan State softball (So., Nutritional Sciences)
Garret Zuk, Michigan State men?s track and field (Sr., Mathematics)

The conference office will also present the Distinguished Scholar Award in July. Students eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying students must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference?s Academic All-Big Ten program.