Sean Merriman, web editor, May 12, 2015

It is no secret that the Big Ten has a long, rich basketball history.

While the conference has not crowned a national champion since Michigan State won it all back in 2000, that doesn't take away from the outstanding talent the conference has produced.

Three players have been named the Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year over the past 10 years: Ohio State's Evan Turner in 2009-10, Michigan's Trey Burke in 2012-13, and Wisconsin's Frank Kaminsky in 2014-15. Turner and Burke are currently enjoying success at the NBA level, while Kaminsky is expected to be a top 20 pick in the 2015 NBA Draft.

This got me thinking: Who are the top players from every Big Ten school over the last decade (any player whose career spanned the years of 2005-2014)?

The toughest part of this project is properly fulfilling a criteria that takes into account every aspect. I considered the most important factors here, from points scored and rebounds grabbed to conference banners and all-conference honors.

What about one-and-done players or guys who finished their careers in 2005? If good enough for inclusion, they aren't penalized for only playing one year.

Here is my starting five from every Big Ten school over the past decade.


Dee Brown, 2002-2006
Deron Williams, 2002-2005
Luther Head, 2001-2005
Brandon Paul, 2009-2013
Demetri McCamey, 2007-2011


Eric Gordon, 2007-2008
D.J. White, 2004-2008
Cody Zeller, 2011-2013
Victor Oladipo, 2010-2013
Yogi Ferrell, 2012-present


Greg Brunner, 2002-2006
Matt Gatens, 2008-2012
Adam Haluska, 2002-2007
Roy Devyn Marble, 2010-2014
Aaron White, 2011-2015


Greivis Vasquez, 2006-2010
Dez Wells, 2012-2015
Terrell Stoglin, 2010-2012
Melo Trimble, 2014-present
Landon Milbourne, 2006-2010


Trey Burke, 2011-2013
Nik Stauskas, 2012-2014
Tim Hardaway Jr., 2010-2013
Manny Harris, 2007-2010
DeShawn Sims, 2006-2010


Draymond Green, 2008-2012
Kalin Lucas, 2007-2011
Drew Neitzel, 2004-2008
Paul Davis, 2002-2006
Adreian Payne, 2010-2014


Trevor Mbakwe, 2010-2013
Lawrence McKenzie, 2006-2008
Austin Hollins, 2010-2014
Andre Hollins, 2011-2015
Dan Coleman, 2004-2008


Terran Petteway, 2013-2015
Shavon Shields, 2012-present
Aleks Maric, 2004-2008
Ryan Anderson, 2006-2010
Brandon Ubel, 2009-2013


Drew Crawford, 2009-2014
John Shurna, 2008-2012
Michael "Juice" Thompson, 2007-2011
Kevin Coble, 2006-2009
Craig Moore, 2005-2009


Evan Turner, 2007-2010
Greg Oden, 2006-2007
Jared Sullinger, 2010-2012
D'Angelo Russell, 2014-2015
Terrance Dials, 2001-2006


Talor Battle, 2007-2011
D.J. Newbill, 2012-2015
Tim Frazier, 2009-2014
Geary Claxton, 2004-2008
Jamelle Cornley, 2005-2009


Robbie Hummel, 2007-2012
E'Twaun Moore, 2007-2011
JaJuan Johnson, 2007-2011
Carl Landry, 2004-2007
A.J. Hammons, 2012-present


Myles Mack, 2011-2015
Quincy Douby, 2003-2006
Kadeem Jack, 2011-2015
Mike Rosario, 2008-2010
Eli Carter, 2011-2013


Frank Kaminsky, 2011-2015
Alando Tucker, 2002-2007
Jordan Taylor 2008-2012
Jon Leuer, 2007-2011
Sam Dekker, 2012-2015