staff, staff, May 3, 2015

The second-seeded Penn State women's lacrosse team captured the inaugural Big Ten Tournament Championship after posting a 13-11 win over fourth-seeded Ohio State on Sunday.

Penn State built a 4-1 lead with 14:55 remaining in the first half, before Ohio State scored two straight goals to trim the Nittany Lions' lead to 4-3. Penn State scored the final two goals of the frame to take an 8-5 lead at halftime. The Buckeyes began the second half on a 3-0 spree, tying at game at 8-8 with just under 23 minutes remaining. Penn State answered with a 3-0 run of its own, and would not relinquish the lead down the stretch.

The Nittany Lions' Tatum Coffey scored a game-high tying four goals, while Madison Cyr, Jenna Mosketti and Katie O'Donnell each added two goals. Katie Chase scored four goals to pace the Buckeyes' offensive output.

Penn State, which has won nine of its last 10 games, earns the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

Below is the 2015 Big Ten Women's Lacrosse Tournament All-Tournament Team:

MVP: Abby Smucker, Penn State

All-Tournament Team
Brooke Griffin, A, Maryland
Megan Whittle, A, Maryland
Anna Schueler, M, Michigan
Kaleigh Craig, M, Northwestern
Kara Mupo, A, Northwestern
Katie Chase, A, Ohio State
Jackie Cifarelli, A, Ohio State
Cian Dabrowski, M, Ohio State
Tatum Coffey, M, Penn State
Jenna Mosketti, M, Penn State
Emi Smith, G, Penn State
Abby Smucker, M, Penn State
Lauren Sbrilli, M, Rutgers