Tom Dienhart, Senior Writer, April 7, 2015 is reporting that football conference title games will be deregulated in 2016. And, that?s OK.

NCAA rules say a league must have at least 12 schools, and teams must play every other team in their division, if a conference wants to play a title game. The ACC, Big Ten, SEC and Pac 12 all have such a configuration, with two division winners meeting for the title. The Big 12 is the lone ?major? league that lacks a conference title game, as it has only 10 schools.

Now, the Big 12 and ACC want to change the rules-for different reasons, according to the report.

The Big 12 wants the option of holding a conference championship game-even with just 10 schools and no divisions.

And it?s speculated that the ACC would like to switch from two to three divisions and have its two highest-ranked teams meet in the championship game.

This would be fine in both cases. No big whoop.

In the ACC?s case, it really doesn?t matter how a league decides who will play in its championship game. Go ahead a take your two highest-ranked teams and have them square off. The ACC?s hope: A ?better? title game may bolster the league?s ability to get a playoff team.

What?s important is to HAVE a championship game. And, in the Big 12?s case, it hasn?t had one since falling from 12 teams after the 2010 season. The lack of a conference title game may have played in a role in Baylor or TCU not making last year?s playoff.


About Tom Dienhart senior writer Tom Dienhart is a veteran sports journalist who covers Big Ten football and men's basketball for and BTN TV. Find him on Twitter and Facebook, read all of his work at, and subscribe to his posts via RSS. Also, send questions to his weekly mailbag using the form below and read all of his previous answers in his reader mailbag section.

And if you want to leave a comment on this post, use the box below. All comments need to be approved by a moderator.