staff, March 28, 2015

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. - Individual event winners were crowned on the second day of the Big Ten Men?s Gymnastics Championships, which concluded with the conference announcing the All-Big Ten teams and postseason award winners. Event titles were claimed by gymnasts from five schools, including champions from Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio State and Penn State.

Illinois claimed three event titles at the 2015 Big Ten Men?s Gymnastics Championships. The Fighting Illini?s Fred Hartville won the vault (15.275), C.J. Maestas claimed the floor exercise title (15.400), and Jordan Valdez tied for first with Michigan?s Nick Hunter on the parallel bars (15.375). Ohio State?s Alex Johnson secured the high bar title (15.325), while Minnesota?s Ellis Mannon won the pommel horse (15.525) and Penn State?s Trevor Howard claimed the rings crown (15.750).

The individual award winners and All-Big Ten teams were announced following competition on Saturday. Illinois? Bobby Baker was named the Big Ten Gymnast and Freshman of the Year, while Penn State?s Randy Jepson was tabbed the Big Ten Coach of the Year. Baker became the first Illinois gymnast to win Gymnast of the Year laurels since Maestas in 2012, while Jepson earned the first accolade for Penn State since winning the award in 2008.

2015 All-Big Ten Teams

First Team
Bobby Baker, Illinois
Fred Hartville, Illinois
C.J. Maestas, Illinois
Jordan Valdez, Illinois
Stacey Ervin, Michigan
Nick Hunter, Michigan
Ellis Mannon, Minnesota
Alex Johnson, Ohio State
Drew Moling, Ohio State
Matthew Felleman, Penn State
Trevor Howard, Penn State

Second Team
Matthew Foster, Illinois
Joey Peters, Illinois
Mike Wilner, Illinois
Douglas Sullivan, Iowa
Anthony Stefanelli, Michigan
Steve Jaciuk, Minnesota
Yaroslav Pochinka, Minnesota
Kyle King, Nebraska
Andrew Rickly, Ohio State

Individual Awards
Big Ten Gymnast of the Year: Bobby Baker, Illinois
Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Bobby Baker, Illinois
Big Ten Coach of the Year: Randy Jepson, Penn State

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Illinois - C.J. Maestas
Iowa - Del Vecchio Orozco
Michigan - Stacey Ervin
Minnesota - Sean Bauer
Nebraska - Robbie Kocks
Ohio State - Drew Moling
Penn State - Trevor Howard