staff, staff, March 22, 2015

The University of Minnesota women's hockey team defeated Harvard University, 4-1, to earn its sixth national championship in front of a sold-out crowd at Ridder Arena Sunday afternoon.

[ MORE: Minnesota men make NCAA tournament field ]

Big Ten schools have now claimed five national titles so far this academic year, including championships for Michigan State women?s cross country, Minnesota women?s ice hockey, Ohio State football and wrestling and Penn State women?s volleyball.

Megan Wolfe put the Gophers up 1-0 late in the first period. Junior Hannah Brandt and seniors Meghan Lorence and Rachael Bona scored in the final minutes of the game to secure the title.

Minnesota, which has won three of the last four national crowns, owns a collegiate record six national championships. The Gophers' first title, in 2000, came the year before women's hockey became an NCAA sport.