staff, March 21, 2015

Michigan earned the 2015 Big Ten Women?s Gymnastics Championships title on Saturday, securing its 21st overall and second consecutive title. The Wolverines tallied 197.825 points en route to the team title, followed by Illinois in second place with 197.350. Nebraska finished in third with 196.875 points, Penn State placed fourth with 196.725 and Iowa rounded out the top five with 196.500 points.

Michigan?s Nicole Artz won the beam with a score of 9.950 en route to the all-around title with a score of 39.650. Artz also tied for first on the bars with Nebraska?s Jennie Laeng (9.950), while Minnesota?s Lindsay Mable claimed the vault title with a tally of 9.950. Michigan?s Talia Chiarelli and Sachi Sugiyama and Minnesota?s Mable all posted matching scores of 9.925 on the floor exercise to share the title.

Read the complete recap here.

The conference?s Sportsmanship Award honorees can be found below.

Big Ten Individual Awards
Big Ten Gymnast of the Year: Lindsay Mable, Minnesota
Big Ten Co-Freshmen of the Year: Brianna Brown, Michigan; Briannah Tsang, Penn State
Big Ten Coach of the Year: Bev Plocki, Michigan

All-Championships Team
Mary Jane Horth, Illinois
Sunny Kato, Illinois
Gianna O?Connor, Illinois
Mollie Drenth, Iowa
Allie Glover, Iowa
Sydney Hoerr, Iowa
Angel Metcalf, Iowa
Karen Tang, Maryland
Nicole Artz, Michigan
Brianna Brown, Michigan
Briley Cassanova, Michigan
Talia Chiarelli, Michigan
Sachi Sugiyama, Michigan
Kira Frederick, Michigan State
Elena Lagoski, Michigan State
Rachel Haines, Minnesota
Lindsay Mable, Minnesota
Jennie Laeng, Nebraska

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Gabriella Nguyen, Illinois
Opua Calucag, Iowa
Stephanie Giameo, Maryland
Annette Miele, Michigan
Anna Gamelo, Michigan State
Cierra Tomson, Minnesota
Desire? Stephens, Nebraska
Kaitlyn Hofland, Ohio State
Krystal Welsh, Penn State
Emma Hoffman, Rutgers