Sean Merriman, web editor, March 10, 2015

Wisconsin enters the 2015 Big Ten Men's Basketball Tournament as the top seed and favorite to win the 14-team event.

The Badgers finished the regular season with an impressive 28-3 record, including a 16-2 mark in Big Ten play, two games ahead of second-seeded Maryland. But just because Bo Ryan's team is the top seed in this weekend's tournament, does that mean they are the obvious favorite to win it?


Let's take a look at some history.

In the 17 years of the Big Ten tourney, the No. 1 seed has won the event seven times (41 percent of the time), more than any other seed, with the most recent being Michigan State in 2012.

The No. 2 seed is one title behind, at six, while the No. 3 seed has done it twice and the No. 4 and 6 seeds have each won it once.

However, when looking at the all-time records and winning percentages in the Big Ten Tournament, as expected, the top seed boasts the highest winning percentage. No. 1 seeds hold an all-time record of 30-10 (.750). The No. 2 seeds stand at 22-10 (.688).

But then again, when you look at the 10 teams to win the tournament that weren't No. 1 seeds, well, they didn't have Frank Kaminsky.

The Badgers' 7-0 do-it-all center is this year's Big Ten Player of the Year and a favorite to take home National Player of the Year honors. He averages 18.1 points and 8.3 rebounds a game, while leading the No. 5-ranked team in the nation.

If you take a look at the history of the Big Ten tournament, the Big Ten Player of the Year has led his team to a conference tournament championship on seven separate occasions. In six of those instances, the conference player of the year also won Big Ten Tournament MVP honors.

What does it all mean?

It means that history suggests Wisconsin is in good hands with Kaminsky leading the way.

Let the madness begin!