staff, February 28, 2015

Nebraska won the 2015 Big Ten Indoor Track & Field Championships on Saturday at the SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio. The Huskers posted two individual titles and won their first Big Ten Championship.

Nebraska totaled 127 team points, while Illinois finished in second place with 86. Minnesota took third with 76 points, Penn State was fourth with 72 and Michigan finished in fifth place with 67 points.

The Huskers picked up first-place finishes from Oladapo Akinmoladun in the 60-meter hurdles and James White in the high jump.

[ MORE: Relive all of the action | View championships homepage ]

Illinois? DJ Zahn won the 400-meter dash and 200-meter dash, and the Fighting Illini claimed the team title in the 4×400-meter relay. Indiana?s Tre?tez Kinnaird won the 800-meter run and Iowa?s Babatunde Amosu claimed first-place honors in the triple jump. Michigan?s Chris Maye won the individual title in the 60-meter dash and the Wolverines? Mason Ferlic finished first in the 5,000-meter run. Michigans State?s Tim Ehrhardt won the pole vault, while Minnesota?s Luca Wieland finished first in the heptathlon, and the Gophers? Mitch Hechsel won the 600-meter run. Ohio State?s Zack Bazile claimed first-place honors in the long jump, Penn State?s Robbie Creese captured the one-mile run and 3,000-meter run individual titles, Darrell Hill won the shot put and the Nittany Lions finished first in the Distance Medley Relay. Wisconsin?s Michael Lihrman claimed first-place honors in the weight throw.

[ MORE: Ohio State women win second Big Ten indoor title ]


1) Nebraska 127
2) Illinois 86
3) Minnesota 76
4) Penn State 72
5) Michigan 67
6) Ohio State 60
7) Iowa 49
7) Indiana 49
9) Michigan State 39
10) Wisconsin 38
11) Purdue 37
12) Rutgers 2


First Team
Kenneth Allen, Illinois
David Kendziera, Illinois
Joe McAsey, Illinois
DJ Zahn, Illinois
Tre?tez Kinnaird, Indiana
Babatunde Amosu, Iowa
Mason Ferlic, Michigan
Chris Maye, Michigan
Tim Ehrhardt, Michigan State
Mitch Hechsel, Minnesota
Luca Wieland, Minnesota
Oladapo Akinmoladun, Nebraska
James White, Nebraska
Zack Bazile, Ohio State
Robby Creese, Penn State
Darrell Hill, Penn State
Brannon Kidder, Penn State
Jordan Makins, Penn State
Alex Shisler, Penn State
Za?Von Watkins, Penn State
Michael Lihrman, Wisconsin

Second Team
Eric Claxton, Indiana
Rorey Hunter, Indiana
Derrick Morgan, Indiana
Aaron Mallett, Iowa
Codie Nolan, Michigan
Nate Roese, Minnesota
Landon Bartel, Nebraska
Jake Bender, Nebraska
Steven Cahoy, Nebraska
Caleb Cowling, Nebraska
Levi Gipson, Nebraska
Ricco Hall, Nebraska
Cody Rush, Nebraska
Lamar Bruton, Ohio State
Brian Leap, Penn State
Chukwuebuka Enekwechi, Purdue
Morgan McDonald, Wisconsin
Malachy Schrobilgen, Wisconsin