staff, February 28, 2015

The No. 5-ranked University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team claimed its fifth Big Ten title in as many seasons on Saturday (Feb. 28), capping off a wire-to-wire performance inside the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center.

The Wolverines got individual event wins from senior Bruno Ortiz (100-yard freestyle) and junior Dylan Bosch (200-yard butterfly) and capped the meet with a win in the 400 freestyle relay on the final day.

U-M accumulated 760 points over the four days, beating second-place Ohio State by a 137-point margin.

[ MORE: Relive all of the action | View championships homepage ]


Final Team Standings
2. Ohio State 623
3. Indiana 551
4. Purdue 401.5
5. Wisconsin 382
6. Minnesota 359
7. Penn State 232
8. Iowa 230.5
9. Northwestern 181
10. Michigan State 82

2015 Big Ten Individual Honors
Swimmer of the Championships: Dylan Bosch, Michigan
Diver of the Championships: James Connor, Indiana
Co-Freshmen of the Year: Blake Pieroni, Indiana; Evan White, Michigan

First Team
James Connor, Indiana
Michael Hixon, Indiana
Dylan Bosch, Michigan
Jason Chen, Michigan
Richard Funk, Michigan
Justin Glanda, Michigan
Jack Mangan, Michigan
Anders Nielsen, Michigan
Bruno Ortiz, Michigan
Paul Powers, Michigan
Jeremy Raisky, Michigan
Vinny Tafuto, Michigan
Aaron Whitaker, Michigan
Jordan Wilimovsky, Northwestern
Matt McHugh, Ohio State
Josh Fleagle, Ohio State
Shane Ryan, Penn State
Lyam Dias, Purdue
Matthew Hutchins, Wisconsin
Drew Teduits, Wisconsin

Second Team
Ali Khalafalla, Indiana
Tanner Kurz, Indiana
Sam Lorentz, Indiana
Blake Pieroni, Indiana
Steve Schmuhl, Indiana
Anze Tavcar, Indiana
Yianni Thermos, Indiana
PJ Ransford, Michigan
Evan White, Michigan
Michael Disalle, Ohio State
DJ MacDonald, Ohio State
Connor McDonald, Ohio State
Steven Zimmerman, Ohio State
Nate Savoy, Penn State
Steele Johnson, Purdue
Nicholas Caldwell, Wisconsin
Cannon Clifton, Wisconsin
Brett Pinfold, Wisconsin

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Mike Hurley, Indiana
Brandon Farnum, Iowa
Richard Funk, Michigan
David Zoltowski, Michigan State
CJ Smith, Minnesota
Andrew Seitz, Northwestern
John Zucca, Ohio State
Jonathan Seiferth, Penn State
Jan Petric, Purdue
Nick Caldwell, Wisconsin