Brent Yarina, BTN.com Senior Editor, February 7, 2015
There was a technical foul called late in Illinois' 59-54 victory at Michigan State that drew plenty of attention.
It all happened with Travis Trice attempting the front-end of a 1-and-1 with 33.2 seconds left and Illinois leading 55-53.
Trice made the free throw, but Illinois' Jaylon Tate, the man in charge of boxing out the shooter, was hit with a technical foul after using his backside to box out Trice. It appears Tate hit Trice below the belt, and that's definitely the way Trice reacted.
The technical gave Michigan State two extra free throws and the ball, not to mention Trice's second attempt to complete the 1-and-1.
The Spartans made just one of the three free throws, and the call turned out to not be as big of a deal as it could have been.
Here's what referee crew chief Terry Wymer said about the technical.