Brent Yarina, Senior Editor, December 10, 2014

Matt Cashore-USA TODAY Sports
Matt Cashore-USA TODAY Sports

The Big Ten Conference on Wednesday recognized a total of 977 fall sports student-athletes who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team.

[ MORE: View 2014 Academic All-Big Ten honorees ]

The list of honored student-athletes features 91 field hockey players, 299 football players, 77 men?s and 153 women?s cross country runners, 88 men?s and 170 women?s soccer players and 99 volleyball players. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

At least 26 of these student-athletes have maintained unblemished cumulative GPAs:

Name School Sport Year Major
Alia Abu-Douleh Illinois Women's Soccer So. Architectural Studies
Chi Chi Ariguzo Northwestern Football Gr. Master's in Sports Administration
David Berry Michigan State Men's Cross Country So. Premedical
Katie Dutchman Northwestern Volleyball Gr. School of Professional Studies
Morgan Dye Indiana Field Hockey So. Finance
Emily Fraik Maryland Volleyball Jr. Engineering: Chemical
Lisa Gordon Iowa Women's Cross Country Jr. Speech & Hearing Science
Maggie Halloran Michigan State Volleyball Jr. Interdisciplinary Studies in Social Science
Lane Hovey Nebraska Football Sr. Business Administration
Nicole Imbriaco Rutgers Field Hockey Jr. Finance and Business Analytics
Allison Lunau Michigan State Women's Cross Country So. Supply Chain Management
Sarah Mazur Iowa Women's Soccer Jr. Electrical Engineering
Minori Minagawa Ohio State Women's Cross Country Jr. Exercise Science
Margaret Morash Rutgers Women's Soccer Jr. Genetics
Kayla Morin Northwestern Volleyball So. Undeclared
Alana O'Mara Michigan State Women's Cross Country So. Lyman Briggs College
Kathleen Rodden Penn State Women's Cross Country Sr. Kinesiology
Hope Schmelzle Purdue Women's Cross Country So. Human Services/Health Care
Jessy Silfer Iowa Field Hockey So. Human Physiology
Paige Tapp Minnesota Volleyball So. Pre-Major-Carlson School of Management
Austin Teitsma Illinois Football Sr. Recreation, Sport and Tourism
Jocelyn Todd Iowa Women's Cross Country Jr. Biomedical Engineering
Kaitlyn Willette Ohio State Women's Cross Country So. Communication
Brian Winterfield Michigan State Men's Soccer So. Finance
Samantha Zishka Iowa Women's Cross Country So. Health & Human Physiology
Garret Zuk Michigan State Men's Cross Country So. Mathematics

The conference office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the winter and spring seasons and will present the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference?s Academic All-Big Ten program.