staff, November 16, 2014

No. 1 Maryland won its first Big Ten Men's Soccer Tournament Championship after defeating No. 6 Indiana, 2-1, in Sunday?s championship match at Ludwig Field in College Park, Maryland.

With the win, the Terrapins earn the Big Ten?s automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament. The rest of the Big Ten will have to wait until the NCAA Selection Show, at 1 p.m. ET Monday on, to find out their fates.

Maryland has now won three consecutive conference tournaments, taking the 2012 and 2013 ACC events.

Christoffer Wallander-Ianev scored the game?s first goal in the 42nd minute before Indiana tied the game in the 64th minute.

Mael Corboz scored the game-winning goal in the 86th minute on a 20-yard free kick.

Goalkeeper Zack Steffen recorded six saves in the win.

All-Tournament Team
Patrick Doody, Indiana
Andrew Oliver, Indiana
Mikey Ambrose, Maryland
Dan Metzger, Maryland
Chris Odoi-Atsem, Maryland
Marcos Ugarte, Michigan
Fatai Alashe, Michigan State
Tyler Miller, Northwestern
Alex Ivanov, Ohio State
Owen Griffith, Penn State
Mitchell Taintor, Rutgers

Offensive Player of the Tournament: Mael Corboz, Maryland
Defensive Player of the Tournament: Zack Steffen, Maryland