staff, November 9, 2014


Three Big Ten teams will compete in the NCAA Field Hockey Tournament, it was announced on Sunday night. Maryland, Northwestern and Penn State earned berths to the 16-team tournament, with all three teams opening play on Saturday, Nov. 15.

[ MORE: View the official interactive NCAA bracket ]

Maryland is making its 27th NCAA Tournament appearance, including its 20th straight, dating back to the 1995 season. The Terrapins garnered the No. 2 overall seed in the tournament, and will host the Princeton-Monmouth winner in the opening round. Maryland won the outright Big Ten Championship in its first year in the conference, and advanced to the championship game of the Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament.

Northwestern will take on Duke in the first round in Chapel Hill, N.C. The Wildcats are making their 12th NCAA Tournament appearance, and the first since 1994. Northwestern defeated Maryland in the championship game of the Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament, securing the school?s first Big Ten Tournament title.

Penn State makes its fifth consecutive and 30th overall appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The Nittany Lions, who garnered an at-large berth to the tournament, will face Boston College in in the opening round in Syracuse, N.Y.

The second round of the NCAA Field Hockey Championship will be played on Sunday. Maryland will serve as the host for the semifinals and championship game, Nov. 21 and 23, at the Field Hockey and Lacrosse Complex in College Park, Md.