staff, November 5, 2014

The Big Ten announced the 2014 Big Ten Men?s Soccer Tournament bracket on Wednesday, with Maryland earning the No. 1 seed after clinching the outright Big Ten Championship in its first year in the conference. The tournament champion will earn the Big Ten?s automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.

[ MORE: View the official 2014 Big Ten Men's Soccer Tournament bracket ]

Rutgers earned the No. 8 seed in the tournament, and will take on No. 9 Wisconsin in the first round on Saturday, Nov. 8 in College Park, Md. Rutgers outlasted Wisconsin, 3-2, in overtime on Sept. 12. Maryland will host the Rutgers-Wisconsin winner in the quarterfinals on Sunday, Nov. 9.

Ohio State claimed the No. 2 seed after concluding the Big Ten season with a 5-3-0 conference record. The Buckeyes will host No. 7 Michigan in Sunday?s quarterfinals. Ohio State and Michigan will be meeting for the second time in five days - the Buckeyes posted a 2-1 road win over the Wolverines on Wednesday night.

Northwestern earned the No. 3 seed in the Big Ten Tournament, and will host No. 6 Indiana on Sunday in the quarterfinals. The Wildcats and Hoosiers played to a 1-1 draw in double overtime on Sept. 28.

Penn State garnered the No. 4 seed in the Big Ten Tournament after posting a 5-3-0 conference record. The Nittany Lions will entertain No. 5 Michigan State in Sunday?s quarterfinals. The Spartans defeated host Penn State, 2-0, on Oct. 18.

The 2014 Big Ten Tournament features a new format, with games being played in back-to-back weekends at several campus sites. The highest remaining seed following Sunday?s quarterfinals will host the semifinals and championship game (Nov. 14 and 16). All four quarterfinal matches will kick off at 1 p.m. ET on Sunday, as will Saturday?s first-round game between Rutgers and Wisconsin.

The quarterfinals will be available on BTN Plus (subscribe here), and the semifinals will air live on BTN and BTN2Go at 1 p.m. and 3:40 p.m. ET, respectively, on Friday, Nov. 14. The championship game will be carried live at 12:30 p.m. ET on Sunday, Nov. 16.