Brent Yarina, Senior Editor, November 2, 2014

After claiming the Big Ten regular-season title in its first season, Maryland earned the No. 1 seed in the 2014 Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament.

[ MORE: View the 2014 Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament bracket (PDF) ]

The tournament will be held at the University of Michigan, beginning Thursday, and the champion will earn the Big Ten?s automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.

The top-seeded Terrapins face No. 8 Ohio State in the tournament?s opening game at 10 a.m. ET on Thursday. Maryland defeated Ohio State, 6-0, on Oct. 3.

Michigan earned the No. 2 seed in the tournament, and faces No. 7 Rutgers at 3 p.m. ET on Thursday in the tournament?s third game. The Wolverines defeated the Scarlet Knights, 2-1, on Sept. 28.

As the No. 3 seed, Northwestern will face sixth-seeded Iowa in Game 4 on Thursday at 5:30 p.m. ET. The Wildcats recorded a 3-1 win over Iowa on Oct. 5.

Penn State garnered the No. 4 seed in the Big Ten Tournament, and will face fifth-seeded Michigan State in the tournament?s second game at 12:30 p.m. ET on Thursday. The Nittany Lions earned a 2-1 victory at Michigan State on Sept. 26.

The first semifinal is slated for 1 p.m. ET on Friday, Nov. 7, while the second semifinal will begin at 3:45 p.m. ET.

Live streamed coverage of all four quarterfinal matches will be available on BTN Plus (subscribe here). BTN and BTN2Go will provide live coverage of the semifinals on Friday. The championship game will air live at 1 p.m. ET on Sunday Follow all the Big Ten Tournament action at and on Twitter @bigtenchamps.