staff, November 1, 2014

The Maryland field hockey team clinched the outright Big Ten Championship on Saturday with a 4-1 win over No. 14 Iowa. With the regular-season title, the Terrapins earn the No. 1 seed in next week?s Big Ten Tournament.

Maryland?s Maxine Fluharty gave the Terrapins an early lead, scoring a goal in the 17th minute of the first half. Alyssa Parker added another goal for Maryland in the 33rd minute as the Terrapins claimed a 2-0 lead at halftime.

The Hawkeyes? Dani Hemeon put Iowa on the board with a goal in the 50th minute, but Maryland?s Anna Dessoye scored one minute later to push the Terrapins? lead to 3-1. Fluharty then scored her second goal of the game in the 62nd minute to complete the game?s scoring.

The second-ranked Terrapins finished the conference season with a 7-1 Big Ten record. The Big Ten Tournament will be hosted by Michigan in Ann Arbor, Mich., from Nov. 6-9. The bracket will be released on Sunday following the completion of the final two games of the Big Ten season.