staff, June 12, 2014

With the inaugural seasons of Big Ten men?s and women?s lacrosse set to begin next year, the conference today announced dates and sites for the 2015 and 2016 Big Ten Men?s and Women?s Lacrosse Tournaments.

The 2015 men?s tournament will be held from April 30 to May 2 at Maryland, while the 2015 women?s event will be hosted by Rutgers from April 30 to May 3. The 2016 men?s tournament will take place from May 5-7 at Johns Hopkins, while Northwestern will be the site of the 2016 women?s event from May 5-8.

In June 2013, the Big Ten announced the addition of men?s and women?s lacrosse as the conference?s 27th and 28th sports, and that Johns Hopkins had been accepted as a sport affiliate member for men?s lacrosse beginning with the 2014-15 academic year. Big Ten competition in both men?s and women?s lacrosse will feature Maryland, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers, with Johns Hopkins participating in men's lacrosse and Northwestern competing in women's lacrosse.

The Big Ten Men?s Lacrosse Tournament will feature a four-team field, with two semifinal matches on Thursday and the championship game played on Saturday. The Big Ten Women?s Lacrosse Tournament will include all six conference programs, with two quarterfinal matches on Thursday. The top two seeds will receive byes to Friday?s semifinals, followed by the championship match on Sunday.

Read full release.