staff, May 22, 2014

The Big Ten office announced the dates and opponents for the 2014-15 hockey season today, featuring 20-game schedules for each of the six Big Ten hockey schools – Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin. The schedule concludes with the 2015 Big Ten Men?s Ice Hockey Tournament, to be held March 19-21, 2015, at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit.

[ MORE: View the complete 2014-15 Big Ten hockey schedule (PDF) ]

The 2014-15 Big Ten hockey schedule will feature 60 games beginning in late November, with the majority of contests being played on Friday and Saturday. The schedule will also include a limited number of games on Thursday and Sunday.

The Big Ten hockey schedule begins with a pair of series to be held Nov. 20-22. The opening weekend will feature Michigan hosting Penn State at Yost Ice Arena and Ohio State welcoming Michigan State to Value City Arena.

Minnesota, the 2013-14 Big Ten Champion, will open its title defense on Friday, Dec. 5, at Michigan State. That same day, 2014 Big Ten Tournament Champion Wisconsin will make its conference debut at home against Penn State.

The Big Ten schedule resumes with a pair of series the weekend of Jan. 8-10, with Michigan playing host to Minnesota and Penn State facing Ohio State at Pegula Ice Arena. That weekend will mark the first of 10 consecutive weekends of conference play from January through March. The final regular season games will take place on Friday, March 13, and Saturday, March 14, with Michigan at Michigan State, Penn State at Minnesota and Ohio State at Wisconsin.

The 2015 Big Ten Men?s Ice Hockey Tournament will feature all six teams in a single-elimination format. For more information on the tournament, go to