staff, May 21, 2014

The Big Ten Conference office announced on Wednesday the rowing individual award winners, as chosen by the conference coaches. Ohio State?s Catherine Shields was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Indiana?s Alice Wright was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Buckeye head coach Andy Teitelbaum earned Coach of the Year honors.

[ MORE: Read full release ]

Athlete of the Year: Catherine Shields, Ohio State
Freshman of the Year: Alice Wright, Indiana
Coach of the Year: Andy Teitelbaum, Ohio State

First Team
Mera Dickensheets, Indiana
Zoe Ribar, Iowa
Amanda Elmore, Michigan
Bryna Oleshansky, Michigan
Laura Moore, Michigan State
Lynn Hodnett, Minnesota
Claire-Louise Bode, Ohio State
Holly Norton, Ohio State
Catherine Shields, Ohio State
Monica Whitehouse, Wisconsin

Second Team
Karly Kikkert, Indiana
Alice Wright, Indiana
Lauren Subler, Iowa
Jessica Eiffert, Michigan
Chrissy Holm, Michigan
Sarah Kovacs, Michigan State
Katherine Windsor, Minnesota
Ashley Bauer, Ohio State
Rixt Miedema, Ohio State
Anne Rauschert, Wisconsin

Caroline Comey, Indiana
Gabby Watson, Iowa
Andrea Johnson, Michigan
Sarah Sherman, Michigan State
Chelsea Miller, Minnesota
Katie King, Ohio State
Monica Whitehouse, Wisconsin