staff, May 4, 2014

Three Big Ten teams have been selected to compete in the 2014 NCAA Division I Women?s Lacrosse Championship. Seven-time NCAA champion Northwestern has earned the No. 5 seed and a first-round bye in tournament following a 12-6 regular season and a runner-up finish in the American Lacrosse Conference. Ohio State and Penn State are the other two Big Ten teams who made the cut.

The seventh-ranked Nittany Lions received an at-large bid into the 26-team field and will face Princeton in first-round action Friday, May 9. The winner of the Penn State-Princeton matchup will face sixth-seeded Virginia in the second round Sunday, May 11.

Ohio State also received an at-large bid to the tournament. The Buckeyes (13-6 overall) will face Louisville (15-3) Friday, May 9 in Evanston, Ill. The winner of that game will then battle Northwestern at 1 p.m. Sunday (May 11) on the Wildcats' home turf, where NU is 19-0 in NCAA Tournament action under Kelly Amonte Hiller.