staff, March 30, 2014

Individual event winners were crowned on the second day of the Big Ten Men?s Gymnastics Championships, which concluded with the conference office announcing the All-Big Ten teams and postseason award winners. Event titles were claimed by gymnasts from four schools, including three championships from Ohio State and one each from Illinois, Minnesota and Penn State.

Ohio State?s Sean Melton claimed event titles on the parallel bars (15.600) and high bar (15.375), while teammate Jake Martin took home the conference title on the vault (15.300). Illinois? Chandler Eggleston won the floor exercise with a score of 15.725, while Minnesota?s Ellis Mannon captured the conference crown on the pommel horse (15.325). Penn State?s Trevor Howard won the rings with a score of 15.825.

The individual award winners and All-Big Ten teams were announced following competition on Saturday. Michigan?s Sam Mikulak was named the Big Ten Gymnast of the Year for the third time, becoming the first conference gymnast to earn the honor three times since Ohio State?s Blaine Wilson earned the accolade from 1995-97. Ohio State?s Melton was tabbed the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while Michigan?s Kurt Golder was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

The All-Big Ten teams, individual award winners and sportsmanship award honorees can be found below.

2014 All-Big Ten Teams
First Team
Chandler Eggleston, Illinois
C.J. Maestas, Illinois
Sam Mikulak, Michigan
Ellis Mannon, Minnesota
Jake Martin, Ohio State
Sean Melton, Ohio State
Trevor Howard, Penn State
Second Team
Chad Mason, Illinois
Jordan Valdez, Illinois
Syque Caesar, Michigan
Tristian Perez-Rivera, Michigan
Paul Rizkalla Jr., Michigan
Zack Chase, Minnesota
Robbie Kocks, Nebraska
Craig Hernandez, Penn State

Individual Awards
Big Ten Gymnast of the Year: Sam Mikulak, Michigan
Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Sean Melton, Ohio State
Big Ten Coach of the Year: Kurt Golder, Michigan

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
C.J. Maestas, Illinois
Mark Springett, Iowa
Adrian de los Angeles, Michigan
Justin Morinishi, Minnesota
C.J. Schaaf, Nebraska
Alex Johnson, Ohio State
Preston Gall, Penn State