staff, March 18, 2014

Four Big Ten teams were named to the 2014 WNIT field, it was announced Monday night, hours after five of the conference's teams made the NCAA tournament. Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota and Northwestern will compete in the tournament, starting Wednesday. Read more about each team's berth in this post.

[ MORE: View the 2014 WNIT bracket (PDF) ]

The Indiana women's basketball team will host Belmont in the first round of the 2014 Women's National Invitation Tournament (WNIT) on Thursday, March 20, in Assembly Hall. The game time will be announced on Tuesday, March 18. The Hoosiers are making their seventh appearance in the WNIT and the program's first since 2009. "We are excited to have the opportunity to play in the WNIT," head coach Curt Miller said. "It will be a great experience for our young and growing program."

After going 18-13 in the regular season, the University of Michigan women's basketball team received a bid to the Women's National Invitation Tournament (WNIT) and will host Stony Brook (24-8) of the America East Conference on Friday (March 21) at Crisler Center. Tip time has yet to be announced. It is the fifth straight season that Michigan has qualified for postseason play, matching the longest streak in program history (1998-2002).

Minnesota was selected to the 64-team WNIT field, as announced by Triple Crown Sports Monday night, and will host Green Bay Wednesday at Williams Arena in the opening round. Game time will be announced Tuesday.  "I thought our team did everything it needed to do and was deserving of a bid into the NCAA Tournament, but sometimes things happen that are beyond our control," head coach Pam Borton said. "However, we are excited to keep playing basketball together and ready to compete for a championship."

Northwestern has the opportunity to extend its season as the Wildcats received an at-large bid to compete in the 2014 WNIT. The Wildcats received an at-large bid to the 64-team tournament and will host Ball State in a first-round matchup on Thursday, March 20 at Welsh-Ryan Arena. Game time will be announced soon.