Sean Merriman, web editor, February 15, 2014

NBA All-Star Weekend is upon us, and the team thought it would be fun to choose Big Ten participants for the annual Saturday night events and the All-Star Game. See our picks for who would compete in a mythical Big Ten Skills Challenge, Three-Point Shootout, Slam Dunk Contest and the All-Star Game in this post.

Here's how this worked: We split the league into East (Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Penn State and Ohio State) and West (Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin), using the Big Ten's new football divisional setup, with web editor Sean Merriman taking the East and senior editor Brent Yarina the West.

[ MORE: Who has Big Ten's best homecourt advantage? ]


West Team (Yarina): Ronnie Johnson (Purdue), Roy Deyvn Marble (Iowa), DeAndre Mathieu (Minnesota), Tai Webster (Nebraska)

East Team (Merriman): Tim Frazier (Penn State), Aaron Craft (Ohio State), Yogi Ferrell (Indiana), Keith Appling (Michigan State)


West Team (Yarina): Ben Brust (Wisconsin), Tre Demps (Northwestern), Ray Gallegos (Nebraska), Malik Smith (Minnesota)

East Team (Merriman): Yogi Ferrell (Indiana), Gary Harris (Michigan State), Zak Irvin (Michigan), Nik Stauskas (Michigan)


West Team (Yarina): Joseph Bertrand (Illinois), Austin Hollins (Minnesota), Gabe Olaseni (Iowa)

East Team (Merriman): Glenn Robinson III (Michigan), Sam Thompson (Ohio State), Troy Williams (Indiana)


West Team (Yarina)

*G: Roy Devyn Marble, Iowa
*G: Terran Petteway, Nebraska
*F: Sam Dekker, Wisconsin
*F: Drew Crawford, Northwestern
*F/C: Aaron White, Iowa
G: Ben Brust, Wisconsin
G: JerShon Cobb, Northwestern
G: Mike Gesell, Iowa
C: A.J. Hammons, Purdue
G: Andre Hollins, Minnesota
C: Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin
G: Rayvonte Rice, Illinois

Head coach: Fran McCaffery, Iowa

EAST TEAM (Merriman)

*G: Tim Frazier, Penn State
*G: Gary Harris, Michigan State
*F: Nik Stauskas, Michigan
*F: Adreian Payne, Michigan State
*C: Noah Vonleh, Indiana
G: Keith Appling, Michigan State
G: Aaron Craft, Ohio State
G: Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
G: D.J. Newbill, Penn State
F: Glenn Robinson III, Michigan
F: LaQuinton Ross, Ohio State
F: Denzel Valentine, Michigan State

Head coach: Tom Izzo, Michigan State