staff, staff, November 5, 2013

The Big Ten Conference announced the 2013 women's soccer All-Big Ten teams and individual honors Tuesday, with Big Ten Champion Nebraska earning three accolades. The Cornhuskers' Jordan Jackson was named Midfielder of the Year, Ari Romero was selected as Defender of the Year and John Walker claimed Coach of the Year honors. Illinois' Janelle Flaws was named Forward of the Year, while Minnesota's Tarah Hobbs was tabbed Goalkeeper of the Year. Wisconsin's Rose Lavelle was named Freshman of the Year.

[ MORE: View 2013 All-Big Ten Teams & Individual Honors (PDF) ]

Flaws led the Big Ten in goals (20) and shots (95), while ranking second in the nation in goals and third in goals per game (1.05). She was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week on Sept. 3.

Jackson paced Nebraska with 23 points on the season, including eight goals and seven assists. She helped the Cornhuskers claim their first Big Ten title in school history. Jackson was tabbed the Big Ten's Offensive Player of the Week on Oct. 14.

Romero helped Nebraska post four shutouts during Big Ten play, anchoring a back line that allowed just 10 goals in conference games. Romero was a second-team All-Big Ten defender last season.

Hobbs made a conference-best 114 saves (7.12 saves per game) during the regular season. She posted four shutouts during Big Ten play and was twice named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week.

Lavelle started all 18 matches for Wisconsin in her debut campaign, scoring six goals to go along with a team second-best seven assists. She was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Week on Sept. 16.

Walker led Nebraska to a 15-3-1 record, including a 10-1-0 mark in Big Ten play. The Cornhuskers enter the Big Ten Tournament ranked No. 18 in the NSCAA/NCAA top 25 poll and are on a six-game winning streak.

Flaws, Jackson, Romero, Hobbs and Lavelle earned spots in the All-Big Ten first team and were joined by Michigan's Nkem Ezurike, Holly Hein, Meghan Toohey and Shelina Zadorsky, and Penn State's Maya Hayes and Mallory Weber. Flaws and Romero were both unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections. The complete All-Big Ten teams, including All-Freshman team, is attached above.

The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.