staff, staff, August 22, 2013

The Big Ten announced Thursday its 2013 Field Hockey Players to Watch List. The list is highlighted by 12 returning All-Big Ten selections and the 2012 Defensive Player of the Year (Penn State?s Brittany Grzywacz).

The 2013 season officially starts next weekend, with all seven conference teams opening play.  Indiana, Iowa, Michigan State, Northwestern and Penn State begin on Friday, August 30, while Michigan and Ohio State start Saturday, August 31.

2013 Big Ten Field Hockey Players to Watch List

Name School Yr. Position Hometown
Hannah Boyer Indiana Sr. Back Louisville, Ky.
Audra Heilman Indiana Jr. Forward/Midfield Easton, Pa.
Danielle McNally Indiana Sr. Back Marmora, N.J.
Karli Johansen Iowa Sr. Back North Vancouver, B.C.
Niki Schultheis Iowa Sr. Back Hamburg, Germany
Marike Stribos Iowa Sr. Midfield/Back Brussels, Belgium
Rachael Mack Michigan Sr. Forward Bromsgrove, England
Ainsley McCallister Michigan Jr. Midfielder Ann Arbor, Mich.
Lauren Thomas Michigan So. Back Aylesbury, England
Abby Barker Michigan State Jr. Forward Columbus, Ohio
Molly Cassidy Michigan State Sr. Goalkeeper Encinitas, Calif.
Becky Stiles Michigan State Jr. Midfield/Back Medford, N.J.
Maddy Carpenter Northwestern Jr. Goalkeeper Wilbraham, Mass.
Nikki Parsley Northwestern Sr. Forward/Midfield Milford, Del.
Tara Puffenburger Northwestern Sr. Midfield Dallas, Pa.
Arielle Cowie Ohio State Sr. Midfield Trinadad and Tobago
Mona Frommhold Ohio State Jr. Midfield Berlin, Germany
Peanut Johnson Ohio State So. Forward Dayton, Ohio
Laura Gebhart Penn State Jr. Forward/Midfield Mount Joy, Pa.
Brittany Grzywacz Penn State Sr. Midfield/Back Collegeville, Pa.
Whitney Reddig Penn State Sr. Forward/Midfield Lititz, Pa.