staff, April 28, 2013

Northwestern and Purdue were named Co-Big Ten Women's Golf Champions on Sunday at the Donald Ross Course at French Lick Resort. Illinois won the Big Ten Men's Golf Championships on Sunday, shooting an 11-over 1,163 to clinch its fifth-straight and 12th overall conference title.

The Big Ten Women?s Golf Championships airs at 6 p.m. ET on Wednesday, May 8, with the Big Ten Men?s Golf Championships airing at noon on Sunday, May 12.

For the women, the Wildcats and Boilermakers compiled a team score of 884 en route to a share of the title. Michigan State finished third at 889, followed by fourth-place Penn State (900) and fifth-place Indiana (916).

In the men's event, the Illini bested second-place Minnesota (+20) by nine strokes. The Illini and Gophers were followed by third-place Iowa (+38), while Indiana and Ohio State (+38) tied for fourth.

Read more on the women's results at and, and find more coverage of the men's champions at has full results for the men's tournament and the women's tournament.