staff, April 5, 2013

Michigan's Trey Burke won the 2013 John R. Wooden Award on Friday finishing just ahead of Indiana's Victor Oladipo. The Wolverines' sophomore guard averaged 18.8 points and 6.8 assists a game and has led Michigan to the Final Four. Four of the top ten finishers for this award are from the Big Ten.

In the voting,  Burke had 2,808 points, just ahead of second-place finisher Oladipo (2,718). Returning Wooden All American Doug McDermott of Creighton was third (2,344,) followed by Otto Porter, Jr. of Georgetown (2,144) and Gonzaga?s Kelly Olynyk (2,079). 

Trey Burke, Michigan, 2808 points
Victor Oladipo, Indiana, 2718
Doug McDermott, Creighton, 2344
Otto Porter, Jr., Georgetown, 2144
Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga, 2079
Shane Larkin, Miami (FL), 1822
Cody Zeller, Indiana, 1730
Mason Plumlee, Duke, 1304
DeShaun Thomas, Ohio State, 1202
Ben McLemore, Kansas, 1072

Burke is the first Michigan Wooden All American since Chris Webber in 1993, and is the first Wolverine to be named a Wooden Award winner. He is the fourth Big 10 player to win the John R. Wooden Award, and the first since Ohio State?s Evan Turner in 2010.

Voters for this award include hundreds of national college basketball media who selected and ranked 10 players. All players proved that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA.

Voters were asked to take into account performance during the regular season and postseason through the first three rounds of the NCAA tournament, as well as a player?s character and academic performance, essential components of an outstanding player. Read more at

More links about Burke:

1977 Marques Johnson University of California, Los Angeles
1978 Phil Ford University of North Carolina
1979 Larry Bird Indiana State University
1980 Darrell Griffith University of Louisville
1981 Danny Ainge Brigham Young University
1982 Ralph Sampson University of Virginia
1983 Ralph Sampson University of Virginia
1984 Michael Jordan University of North Carolina
1985 Chris Mullin Saint John?s University
1986 Walter Berry Saint John?s University
1987 David Robinson United States Naval Academy
1988 Danny Manning University of Kansas
1989 Sean Elliott University of Arizona
1990 Lionel Simmons La Salle University
1991 Larry Johnson University of Nevada, Las Vegas
1992 Christian Laettner Duke University
1993 Calbert Cheaney Indiana University
1994 Glenn Robinson Purdue University
1995 Ed O?Bannon University of California, Los Angeles
1996 Marcus Camby University of Massachusetts
1997 Tim Duncan Wake Forest University
1998 Antawn Jamison University of North Carolina
1999 Elton Brand Duke University
2000 Kenyon Martin University of Cincinnati
2001 Shane Battier Duke University
2002 Jason Williams Duke University
2003 T.J. Ford University of Texas
2004 Jameer Nelson St. Joseph's
2005 Andrew Bogut University of Utah
2006 J.J. Redick Duke University
2007 Kevin Durant University of Texas
2008 Tyler Hansbrough University of North Carolina
2009 Blake Griffin University of Oklahoma
2010 Evan Turner Ohio State University
2011 Jimmer Fredette Brigham Young University
2012 Anthony Davis University of Kentucky