Brent Yarina, Senior Editor, March 6, 2013

The Big Ten tournament bracket comes out Sunday night. Here at, we're trying something new around the release of the bracket that we hope Big Ten fans enjoy. It's a bracket with 12 slots that features each team's best dunk from the 2012-13 season.

Watch Minnesota's dunk of the year candidates in this post and vote for the slam that will represent the Gophers in our new tournament.

[ RELATED: Vote for other teams' Dunk of the Year ]

Here's how it works:

  • provides the finalists choices for all 12 teams.
  • Big Ten fans will select the top slam for each of the 12 teams.
  • Dunk seeding correlates to the actual Big Ten tourney bracket. The dunk from the tourney's No. 1 seed gets the No. 1 dunk seed, and so on.
  • Once our bracket is set, Big Ten fans will vote on until a dunk champion is crowned.


Rodney Williams two-handed putback at Florida State:

Austin Hollins two-handed putback vs. North Florida:

Rodney Williams 360 dunk vs. North Dakota State:

Wally Ellenson reverse putback vs. Lafayette:

Trevor Mbakwe block and powerful slam vs. Northwestern:

Rodney Williams left-handed alley-oop vs. Penn State: