Brent Yarina, Senior Editor, March 4, 2013

The Big Ten tournament bracket comes out Sunday night. Here at, we're trying something new around the release of the bracket that we hope Big Ten fans enjoy. It's a bracket with 12 slots that features each team's best dunk from the 2012-13 season.

Watch Illinois' dunk of the year candidates in this post and vote for the slam that will represent the Illini in our new tournament.

Here's how it works:

  • provides the finalists choices for all 12 teams.
  • Via Facebook polls, Big Ten fans select the top slam for each of the 12 teams.
  • Dunk seeding correlates to the actual Big Ten tourney bracket. The dunk from the tourney's No. 1 seed gets the No. 1 dunk seed, and so on.
  • Once our bracket is set, Big Ten fans will vote on until a dunk champion is crowned.

[ POLL: Vote for your favorite 2012-13 Illinois dunk here ]


Joseph Bertrand two-handed putback vs. Western Carolina:

Joseph Bertrand reverse alley-oop vs. Ohio State:

Brandon Paul posterizes Trevor Mbakwe:

Nnanna Egwu throws down alley-oop on opening possession vs. Michigan:

D.J. Richardson rises for one-hander over Jared Berggren: